Momentarily Star Struck

Sunday 31 July 2011

Of all of the big names I am privileged to be able to communicate with, my ultimate hold-up-in-awe-and-wonder person, is Australian crime fiction author Kathryn Fox. I’ve discussed previously that it’s because of Kathryn Fox that I became involved in Social Media – yes, you have her to thank for that – and she’s also the reason that I now take writing seriously. Yes, that is definitely Kathryn’s fault . . . should you feel the need to place blame, and want to tell someone.

Over the last couple of days, I’ve been star struck. Doesn’t really sit that well upon the shoulders of a thirty s . . . I mean, a twenty one year old. Everyone these days has their own little brush with fame and the famous, so my reasons for being star struck pale in comparison. This is how I came to be, you know, practically weepy because I ‘communicated’ with someone famous. It wasn’t really that extensive in terms of ‘deep and meaningful’ or even in terms of amount of words, but . . . ‘kay, I’ll shut up and let you read the rest . . .

Kathryn posted a couple of status updates on her Facebook page. The first simply read: Cold Grave… nearly there!!! At least a few of you have some knowledge of the way my brain works, so you’ll have an idea that maybe I tried to say something witty in response to her update. *Ding, ding, ding* You’re correct. I made the comment that I hoped Kathryn’s update was literary speaking as opposed to literally speaking. Yes, I cracked a literary funny. And Kathryn Fox clicked ‘like’. At which point I had a conniption. OMG, Kathryn Fox just liked my Facebook comment! I can’t believe it. OMGOMGOMGOMGOMG. Yep, that’s pretty much how it went, just add in a bit of jumping around the room and strange looks from my smoochy poochy.

The second update looked something like this: I’ll be appearing at the Brisbane Writers Festival, September 10th and 11th. 
Also doing a three hour workshop on writing crime!! 

Highlight authors include Jonathan Franzen, Ann Patchett, Philip Pullman, Kate Grenville, Anita Shreve. Come along and say hi!!

Oh, you know me, if I was in Brisbane I would stalk[1] visit Kathryn at the Festival. Just say hi, chat about Death Mask and the upcoming Cold Grave; learn a bit more about how professional, published writers do things; #TwitFacePimp my blog by subtly leaving my #TwitFacePimp business card with her. You know, stuff that regular, normal people do. Yeah, normal stuff.

I left a comment, again. No, I’m not being creepy and stalkerish, I was just thinking: Wonder if my boss would consider a trip to Brissy an appropriate work related expense or professional development course? Not sure how I’d work writing crime into teaching primary school drama though…

It’s a fair comment. I don’t think he would, but it’s an awfully nice goal to attempt to achieve. Of course, now that I’ve blogged about it, I can’t possibly try it out. I’ve slightly compromised myself.

The ‘Danielle is star struck’ moment happened when Kathryn replied to the comment with: Could be a crime not to! 🙂

*Cue almost hysterical laughter and silly grin* I’ll just leave you with that image for a bit . . .

I haven’t been star struck since I was a kid, and I had forgotten what a neat feeling it is to be impressed by someone famous. Especially when that someone famous is a person whom you admire and look up to. And it’s a different sort of start struck to the feeling you get when you meet someone who isn’t famous, but whom you admire and respect (think back to my posts about my April Tweet-Ups).

There’s really no point to this post, other than to say that I think it’s important never to let go of those moments when, as an adult, you act like a kid for just a minute; to let that excitement, awe, and wonder you have so much of as a booger eater, bubble out past your adult exterior; to delight in those instances when someone you admire acknowledges you; to be silly and enjoy it.

Go do something that leaves you in wide-eyed awe and wonder, makes you laugh until you cry, and has you feeling like a kid again.

And with that, I’ll sign off with one of my favourite Social Media acquired nicknames that makes me smile whenever the V.I.P. who bestowed it upon me uses it:

Smurf 😉


[1] Never stalk, Danielle, always visit. Creepy people and maniacal fans stalk, regular people say hello. Always, always visit.

About Danielle

I like to write. What more is there to know?
Gallery | This entry was posted in Armchair Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

