For Every Action . . .

Thursday 19 – Saturday 21 January 2012

Newton’s Third Law of Motion states: For every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction. Okay, so I’m a bit of a . . . I don’t wanna say science nerd because I’m no genius in the area. I studied a couple of units of science at uni, and I’ve taught both high school and primary school science, but I’m definitely not a nerd, more that I find science interesting. Back to Newton and his Third Law of Motion . . . so, I figure that this Law will transfer nicely into the real world. I think you can apply this Law to people as well as motion. Lemme explain . . .

Danielle’s Third Law of People

For every person, there is an equal and opposite schmuck. (Hmmm, not really fancy schmancy like ol’ Newton’s Third Law of Motion, but see below for some, hopefully, pertinent examples of my Law.)

For every genuine person, there is an equal and opposite faker.

For every honest person, there is an equal and opposite liar.

For every person who captures your heart, there is an equal and opposite person who rips it out and stamps all over it.

For every person who respects your privacy, there is an equal and opposite creepy stalker.

For every beautiful soul, there is an equal and opposite asshole.

For every person who inspires you, there is an equal and opposite one who will suck the life out of you . . .no, not in that sucking way . . . I meant drain your energy. Filthy minds!

For every person you’d like to spend more time with, there is an equal and opposite one who you desperately need to hide from because they take up all of the time that you could be spending with the person from the first part of the sentence.

For every humble and modest person, there is an equal and opposite arrogant and egotistical wanker.

For every stoic and get-on-with-the-job person, there is an equal and opposite whinge-about-everything person.

For every person who adores you, there is an equal and opposite person who thinks you are unworthy.

For every person you respect, there is an equal and opposite person who will disrespect you.

For every person who leaves their mark on your life, there is an equal and opposite person who will take a part of you that you can’t ever get back.

For every amazing, real-life hero, there is an equal and opposite real-life coward.

For every person who honours you, there is an equal and opposite one who will treat you like rubbish.

I could go on, but you get the idea. I think it’s important, in the name of balance, to recognise that the equal and opposite ‘negative’ type of people are prevalent in life. It’s unavoidable much like the concept of good and evil – for good to exist, so must evil. They’re two sides of the same coin. It’s also important, in the name of balance, not to allow those negative types to rule your day to day interactions with others, but to focus on the people who do respect you, treat you with dignity, look out for your best interests, the people who are good for you. I know it seems obvious to have written that sentence, but it is easy to forget that you have a choice in the matter of who you let affect your life.

I like to focus on those who are in bold in my Third Law of People examples. And yes, I realise that I’ve just fallen into the arrogant category, thinking that I’m awesome enough to name a Law after myself, and standing in judgement of people. Judgement is not for me. I merely stated observations that I have made across my life, thus far. Am I arrogant? Yep, I certainly can be. Am I awesome? *insert shoulder shrug here* Dunno. Maybe. Depends who you ask. My mum would probably say I am, but she has to because she’s my mum. Anyway, the bold people, in my opinion, are those who are worth your time, who are worth the effort of friendship, who should be valued and held in high esteem.

So why am I writing this post? You mean aside from the fact that I need to write a post for Some Day And Never? I’m kidding. Due to a recent conversation, I’ve been thinking about some of the people who use Social Media, how they present themselves to the world, how others react to them, and why some genuinely lovely people tend to be overlooked by the masses in the world of Social Media. I formulated a theory to explain the situation, but all I’d like to reveal about it is that whilst these people may seem to have great influence over the masses, it is the words and actions of the genuinely lovely people that will resonate longer with their audience. Consider the genuinely lovely people as literary classics that survive time and generational differences, and the other people as airport fiction – seems like a great buy at the time, but you really just want it to stave off the boredom or terror of a flight, and you’ll probably toss it away the moment you land.

Now I leave you with a question, dear reader: which side of my Third Law of People do you fall on?

About Danielle

I like to write. What more is there to know?
Gallery | This entry was posted in Armchair Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For Every Action . . .

  1. sarina286 says:

    So true Danielle. Just proves that humanity is a duality. No good without bad, no peace without war.

Leave a Reply

