All The World’s A Stage . . .

Monday 25 November 2013

It occurred to me, when I was trying to figure out a topic for my next post, that I’ve not really covered anything in my chosen field of study. So, I thought I’d write about some of the actors I think are fascinating. Now, before I go any further, it is essential to mention that actor is a generic term to describe a male or female who is in the acting profession. There really is no need to distinguish between actor referring to the male, and actress referring to the female. They’re terms that are pretty much used for awards shoes, reviews, and sexist pigs. What? Too harsh? Well, look at it this way – you don’t refer to a woman who is a doctor by a term other than doctor, so why would you feel the need to differentiate female and male performers? It’s simply unnecessary. Anyway, that’s an entirely different discussion. All you need to know is that actor refers to both genders.

My taste in actors is exactly that – my taste. It’s a given that many people won’t agree with me or see why I like particular people, but y’know, that’s their prerogative. Just as it is mine to be baffled by some of the choices you’d make if I asked you to name actors who fascinate you. Let me get started then . . .

Marilyn Monroe: I’ve mentioned in another post that I have a bit of a Marilyn collection. I adore her. I’ve been fascinated by MM since I was at university and old enough to appreciate Marilyn for her talent. Yes, she did have talent, and despite what many people thought of her, Marilyn was intelligent. Not to mention her comic timing which, in films such as Some Like It Hot and Bus Stop, was impeccable. It’s also worth noting that Marilyn’s own production company was the force behind Bus Stop. She was a voracious reader, and immersed herself in the tutelage provided at the renowned Actor’s Studio. Taking into consideration every book I’ve ever read about her, every documentary I watched about her, in my opinion there were too many people who ingratiated themselves into Marilyn’s life, and helped lead her to her ultimate demise. In the interests of objectivity, it should also probably be noted that Marilyn herself invited a good many of these people into her world, in what I think was her quest to kill her insecurities. And if I happened upon my very own TARDIS, the first place that I would go, and the first thing that I would do, would be to go back to Marilyn’s time and say . . . well, that conversation would be between Marilyn and I.

Robert De Niro: Cape Fear, Ronin, This Boy’s Life, The Untouchables, Sleepers, Wag the Dog, Heat, and yes, I’m the person who liked De Niro in all of the Focker films, Analyse This, and the sequel, Analyse That. Nothing more needs to be written because IT’S DE NIRO. Plus, he’s hot.

Al Pacino: Think Heat, Scent of a Woman, Sea of Love, The Devil’s Advocate, Insomnia, The Recruit. And the man is sexy ugly. Nothing more needs to be written because IT’S PACINO.

Lynda Carter: What to say? My fascination with Lynda Carter stems from when I was about five or six. Lynda Carter was . . . Wonder Woman, and Wonder Woman was my show when I was a kid. So much so that I’ve managed to buy all of the seasons of the show on DVD, and when I watched them again, I still got the same kick that I did when I was watching the show as a lil kid. I love the mythology behind Diana/Wonder Woman, and because my first image of Wonder Woman was Lynda Carter, I have a soft spot for her too. She has done a number of films since playing the superhero, but is most notably remembered for her time as Wonder Woman. So much so that I’ve managed to buy all of the seasons of the show on DVD, and when I watched them again, I still got the same kick that I did when I was watching the show as a lil kid. I love the mythology behind Diana/Wonder Woman, and because my first image of Wonder Woman was Lynda Carter, I have a soft spot for her too. She has done a number of films since playing the superhero, but is most notably remembered for her time as Wonder Woman.

Lindsay Wagner: Best known for her role as Jaime Sommers in The Bionic Woman, another one of my shows when I was lil. Lindsay has a long resume of film and television, but like Lynda Carter and Wonder Woman, people think of Jaime Sommers when they think of Lindsay.

Gillian Anderson & David Duchovny: In the mid to late 90s, I was a lil obsessed with The X Files, and Mulder and Scully. As such, I find it difficult to separate the two actors when I think of them. Both Gillian and David have gone on to star and perform in a plethora of other movies and television shows. I think Gillian tends to be the more underrated actor of the two, but her work in the BBC production of Charles Dickens’ Bleak House, and Great Expectations (as Miss Havisham), and currently The Fall have garnered her accolades and acclaim. Duchovny’s most notable role since The X Files has been playing Hank Moody in Californication. However, aside from his role as Mulder, I’ve found his roles in Kalifornia (opposite Brad Pitt and Juliette Lewis), Chaplin playing opposite Robert Downey, Jr., the most enjoyable. Yeeeeaaaaahhhh, I have a thing for David Duchovny.

Emma Thompson: Incredible actor. Loved her in Love Actually, both Nanny McPhee films, and Peter’s Friends. She has remarkable range and flexibility, playing both modern and classic characters. And I hear that she’s a pretty nice person too.

Sir Anthony Hopkins: When I was seventeen, and in the city for a statewide schools competition, a number of our free nights were allocated as cinema trips. Clearly underage, a friend and I managed to a) buy tickets, b) walk into the cinema unchallenged, and c) watch the entirety of The Silence of the Lambs. My introduction to Sir Anthony Hopkins was Dr. Hannibal Lecter, and he was pure genius in his portrayal of the cannibalistic doctor. Unlike much of the audience in the cinema that night, I walked out enthralled, thrilled, mesmerised, and captivated by his portrayal of Lecter. It’s still one of my favourite movies.

Jodie Foster: Yep, it had to go hand in hand, didn’t it? Foster’s Clarice Starling was a nice edge to Hopkins’ Dr. Lecter. As with Hopkins, The Silence of the Lambs introduced me to Foster, and I’ve enjoyed her work ever since. Especially Brave. I really liked her in that movie. This is one talented woman who makes brilliant choices regarding the roles she chooses to take on. I once read an article where it was alleged that Jodie had said that for her, acting was something that she approached from her head, as opposed to other actors who maybe go Method, or act from an emotional basis. If in fact she said it, this make Jodie the sort of actor I’d be if I were an actor . . . but we won’t go into that conversation.

Sandra Bullock: Who doesn’t love that scene in Miss Congeniality where Gracie, Sandra’s character, has been glammed up and is crossing the tarmac, and she stumbles, falling flat on her face before making a quick ‘I’m okay’ recovery? Sandra is a versatile actor who successfully carries off both comedic and dramatic roles, and that, ladies and gentlemen, is not an easy task to do. Really like her work.

I’m pretty sure that, at some point, there will be a part two of this, because I just feel like I’ve left out a huge number of actors. I must remember to note them down somewhere. My memory isn’t what it used to be . . . after all, middle age is not that far away from officially settling in.

If there are any actors you really like, feel free to add them in the comment section.

About Danielle

I like to write. What more is there to know?
Gallery | This entry was posted in Twisted Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

