Lights, Camera, Action . . .

Thursday 16 – Wednesday 17 January 2014

A few posts ago I covered my favourite actors, and my favourite bad guys. Well, tonight, as I write this post, there’s a movie on TV that just happens to be one of my favourites. So, how about we check out some movies? Apologies in advance for the length of this post. 😉

Let us start with the one that has kicked off the idea for this post, the movie that is currently on TV.

Ghost: Patrick Swayze, Demi Moore, Whoopi Goldberg, and Tony Goldwyn (yes, of the MGM Goldwyns). A perfect cast. I don’t believe that this movie would have been as successful as it was if different actors had been cast. For me, aside from the Demi-Patrick combination, the stand out was Whoopi Goldberg as Oda Mae Brown. She owned that character, and had it not been for Patrick’s persistence in pushing the casting directors in her direction, Whoopi would not have been a part of this film. The story goes that Patrick put his neck on the line to get Whoopi into this movie, as the studio didn’t believe that she was right for the role. History and a Best Supporting Actress Academy Award say otherwise. Apparently, after adjusting for inflation, Ghost is the 91st highest grossing film of all time. The same year that Whoopi took home the Best Supporting Actress Oscar, Ghost won the Best Original Screenplay Oscar. For most people, Dirty Dancing is the Patrick Swayze movie to judge all Swayze performances by, but for me, it is Ghost . . . and Roadhouse, but that should be discussed elsewhere. Yep, this is a great flick, and to this day I still have a thing for Tony Goldwyn, despite his nefarious nature in this movie. 😉

The Bone Collector: This movie set me on the path of reading every Jeffery Deaver book that I could get my hands on. There are a few small differences between the movie and the book, most notably a few of the characters names. However, that’s easy enough to get around because Jeffery Deaver’s novel, and thus original story, is a cracker. Directed by Phillip Noyce, and starring Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie in the lead roles, this is a fantastic movie even if you have already read the book. And that, Regular Readers, we all know is more often than not, a very difficult feat to achieve – a movie as good as the book. Conceivably, this could be my absolute favourite movie.

Elvira – Mistress of the Dark: Cassandra Peterson’s alter ego, Elvira, is a hoot . . . insert your own boob joke there. Whilst it may seem an odd thing to admit, I did grow up watching her TV show, Elvira’s Movie Macabre, although I want to say that it was marketed under a different name here in Australia. This movie got some pretty terrible reviews when it was released in 1988, but I love it. It’s full of Peterson’s bawdy sexual innuendo humour, and as anyone who knows about Elvira will tell you, that is what makes her so bloody loveable. Lots of sight gags, and silly laughs abound in Elvira: Mistress of the Dark. One of my favourites is the short conversation between Bob and Elvira about a meddling woman, Chastity.

Bob: You know what your problem is? Chastity Pariah.

Elvira: Oh, I thought that cleared up.

And Elvira’s monologue as she’s about to be burned at the stake.

Elvira: And if they ever ask about me, tell them I was more than just a great set of boobs. I was also an incredible pair of legs. And tell them…tell them that I never turned down a friend. I…never turned down a stranger for that matter. And tell them…tell them that when all is said and done, I only ask that people remember me by two simple words. (Pauses to think) Any two, as long as they’re simple. (Breaks down crying)

What can I say? I am partial to a bit of tacky humour.

The Silence of the Lambs: Aaahhh, almost everyone has an opinion regarding this movie, and many of the people I know think that this is a great flick. Who doesn’t think Sir Anthony Hopkins is deliciously evil as Dr. Hannibal Lecter? And this was the movie that really made Jodie Foster stand out as an excellent actor for me. Her Clarice Starling has depth, sensitivity, vulnerability, determination, and frailty. As with The Bone Collector, this is the movie that motivated me to read Thomas Harris’ novels, and yes, I own all of the novels that revolve around Hannibal Lecter. He’s a bad guy who I feel some empathy towards, and that came about prior to me discovering what set Hannibal on his cannibalistic and torturous journey. I don’t think that anyone who has seen it has looked at lotion the same way again.

Happy Texas: It’s through this movie that I learnt about Mark Illsley, and of course, Mr. Illsley is the man who said the quote about some day and never, and we all know, hopefully, that Some Day And Never is the name of my lil blog. Illsley funded the production of this movie himself, and through the generosity of his family and friends. For those of you who haven’t seen the movie, it’s the story of two prisoners who are forced to escape a chain gang because the guy they’re shackled to wants to leg it. These two guys end up in Happy, Texas posing as a gay couple who have been hired to host a Little Miss Fresh Squeezed beauty pageant. As expected, the two heterosexual-convicts-posing-as-a-gay-couple find themselves falling for the two main women of the town – Walker’s banker, and Douglas’ teacher. The stand out performances here are Steve Zahn, and William H. Macy. Zahn is hilarious as one half of the escapees, and his attempts at training the young girls for the pageant are really quite amusing. Macy, a phenomenal talent, nails the role of town sheriff who comes out and falls for Zahn’s character.

The Pirate Movie: For those of you know me from Facebook and who saw the photos, this movie is responsible for that ball dress. Yeah, you know which one I’m referring to. The ball dress was modelled on, and was almost an exact replica, of the wedding dress that Kristy McNichol wore in the penultimate scene of this movie. The Pirate Movie is a parody of stage play The Pirates of Penzance, and as with apparently many of the movies that I happen to like, it was poorly received and a complete box-office failure. It is, however, one of the only Australian productions that I have thoroughly enjoyed. It’s a musical comedy and as such, it plays to everything that I like. I must admit that the only reason I first saw this movie was because I was a fan of Kristy McNichol, who played the lead female role, and had been since her days as Buddy in the TV show Family.

The Rocky Horror Picture Show: Yes, I know that this is technically a stage musical, however, it makes the grade because Richard O’Brien, creator and writer of the original play, also made the movie. And please, you can’t tell me that Tim Curry isn’t fabulous as Dr. Frank N. Furter! It’s got a great cast – Tim Curry, Richard O’Brien, Little Nell (Nell Campbell), Patricia Quinn, Susan Sarandon, Barry Bostwick (swoon), Charles Gray, Peter Hinwood, Jonathan Adams, Meat Loaf – superb music and story, and a cult following. I don’t think I need to say more about this one.

The Brave One: Jodie Foster stars as a Erica Bain who, along with her fiancé, is brutally attacked. Her fiancé dies, and she sets about seeking revenge for the attack. Along the way, she becomes a vigilante, saving others from attacks, and is hunted by Detective Sean Mercer, with whom she strikes up a friendship in order to discover how close he is to arresting her as the vigilante. There’s a nice lil twist at the end with Mercer and Bain. See it if you haven’t already.

Irréversible: This flick has thirteen scenes played out in reverse chronological order. I debated whether or not to include this as a movie in a post about favourites because of the nature of this film. It is R rated, and if you know anything about this film at all, you’re aware of the much talked about seven minute rape scene. Now, I’ve seen a lot of gory, gross-out, hard-to-watch, make-your-skin-crawl movies, however – and this is a big however – the aforementioned scene was incredibly difficult for me to sit through. Monica Belluci, as Alex (who has just discovered she is pregnant), and Jo Prestia as Le Tenia (the tapeworm. Yes, the character’s name is ‘the tapeworm’ and he hangs out at a club called The Rectum) are intense in that scene. The story revolves around Marcus, Alex’s boyfriend, trying to track down Alex’s rapist, and avenge her. Things don’t go to plan however. It’s worth a look if you can stand the graphic nature of the film. Oh, and Vincent Cassel is the lead actor. Just sayin’.

Now you know some of mine, leave me a comment/reply to let me know what your favourite movies are.

About Danielle

I like to write. What more is there to know?
Gallery | This entry was posted in Armchair Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

