Milestones And Wisdom . . .

Wednesday 22 January 2014

As some of you may recognise from the above date, I’m writing this post on my birthday, and as I mentioned on a photo last week on my Instagram and Facebook accounts, it’s a birthday that my chiropractor described as a ‘milestone birthday’. In other words, I’ve just turned old . . . well, middle-aged to be precise, although, there are differing parameters on middle age these days. But let’s just stick with the idea that I’m officially middle-aged.

Leading up to this birthday, I was given lots of advice about how to cope or deal with this day and this particular age. All the usual suspects were there plus some:

            It’s all downhill from here.

            You’re only as old as you feel.

            It’s only a number.

            Treat it like any other birthday.

            Don’t you wish you’d never taken the p!ss outta your older friends?

            Payback’s a b!tch.

            No, really, it IS all downhill from here.

            Next step is the big *insert number*-0.

            Watch out for the grey hairs!

            Growing old is unavoidable. Growing up is optional.

            You’re unmarried, unattached, and *insert age* . . . hello, crazy cat lady!

It goes on, as I’m sure my older friends will know from when they met this milestone birthday face-to-face.

Anyway, I woke up this morning, another year older, and happy that I actually woke up, and I said to my mama, ‘So, I suppose I should grow up now.’ Her reply kinda caught me off-guard. She said, ‘Do you feel like you should grow up?’ Of course, I said no, and her reply was ‘Then don’t.’  People often tell me that I don’t look the age that I am, and I think that has a bit to do with the fact that I’m yet to be a grown up all the time. I alternate between being a cynical adult, and a kid who looks like they might be an adult.

What’s my take on all the advice that I have been given? Thanks, but I’m taking this journey my way, on my terms. That stuff might have been of comfort (or not, depending upon what advice was given) to you, but y’all know that I do things how I see fit. That might get me into a bit of trouble – and we all know that’s true – but I’m the one who has to live with myself, my choices, my trouble. But I’m honestly hoping that there’ll be less of that this decade – trouble, I mean.

‘Kay, that’s about it. This is a post about nothing really. Well, nothing important or life altering. Now I’m off to take my middle-aged aches and pains elsewhere. I’ll probably be playing with my Sonic Screwdrivers . . .

P.S. I’m not a cat person. Nor am I crazy . . . okay, fine, the jury may still be out on the crazy verdict. 😉

About Danielle

I like to write. What more is there to know?
Gallery | This entry was posted in Armchair Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

