Love Me Some Theatre . . .

Wednesday 25 June 2014

It’s a given that I should probably like theatre and theatrical productions. I trained as a Drama teacher. If I didn’t like theatre, then there’d be something really wrong with the whole picture. So I thought: why the heck don’t I write a listy post about some cool productions? And here it is . . . surprise, surprise.

  1. The Crucible – I was given a couple of comp tickets to this show whilst I was in uni. And really, who the hell passes up comp tickets? No one in his or her right mind is who. It was far from being a traditional production, instead employing minimalist techniques and stage design, and it was fantastic. I think if you’re ever given the opportunity to catch a performance of The Crucible you should definitely take it.
  2. Hair – I was in my first year of uni when I saw this, and it is a production that has remained with me ever since. I have the original Australian cast album of this particular production on my iPod. I love the soundtrack, and the story is really quite powerful. I’d love to catch another production of this. By the end of the performance I was gutted for Claude and his friends. This was my favourite piece of theatre for years.
  3. Cats – yeah, sorry, there was bound to be an Andrew Lloyd Webber production in here. This is one of the very first theatrical performances that I saw, and I have to admit that for years afterwards, I had a serious crush on the actor who played Rum Tum Tugger in the production that I saw. It’s possible that almost everyone who has ever been to a theatre has seen this.
  4. The Phantom of the Opera – What I would have done to see Sarah Brightman play the role of Christine . . . alas, it was not Sarah that I saw. Never the less, what an outstanding production. Okay, so it’s obvious by now that I’m a sucker for a Lloyd Webber, despite the man himself being the brunt of many jokes. I’d happily recommend Phantom to anyone.
  5. Wicked – Oh. My. Good. God. Phenomenal. Outstanding. Utterly brilliant. I want to see this again and again and again and again . . . Jemma Rix and Lucy Durack, as Elphaba and Glinda respectively were . . . wow. Yep, they were wow. Wicked took over from Hair as being my favourite piece of theatre. I love this show. And everyone, EVERYONE should see it at some point in his or her life.
  6. Dusty – Based on the life of Dusty Springfield, this show is filled with her music, and it punctuates all of the important parts of her life. I cried in this. Great music from the ‘60s. Great performances from all of the actors. A true story.
  7. The Rocky Horror Picture Show – Unfortunately I have not seen a production of this but I really, really, really want to. Especially if Richard O’Brien has a cameo in it. I love this as a movie so of course I want to see the original format of the story. And Richard O’Brien is awesome.

I’ve seen a truckload of theatre, and I expect that over the course of the rest of my life, I’ll see a hell of a lot more. At least, that’s the plan. For me, a life without theatre would be like a life without music or books or art – unimaginable.

Do yourself a favour and get out to see a theatrical production, even if a local theatre company or amateur actors do it because theatre is awesome.

About Danielle

I like to write. What more is there to know?
Gallery | This entry was posted in Armchair Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

