Hip Hip Hooray For The Media

Sunday 24 – Monday 25 May 2015

The media seems to provide me with an almost daily supply of head-desk or face-palm moments. Some of them are moments purely ridiculous in nature. Other moments make me question the motives of those involved in the media – do they deliberately set out to cause panic to the public, or are they just so blinded by wanting to ‘do the right thing’ that they miss the bigger picture? I’m not sure which side of the argument I fall on.

The latest one that has whipped me into a frenzy was about airport security at an airport that I have been known to frequent. When I write ‘have been known to frequent’ I don’t mean that I just happen to hang out a lot in the airport for no good reason, or that I’m stalking the airport. I mean it’s an airport that I know pretty well, and that I have flown in and out of quite a number of times. I won’t go into specifics here, other than to say that the article discussed a report into the security measures employed at the airport, and the areas in which those security measures are lacking.

Hopefully, at this point, you’re cottoning on to the problem that I have with this article . . .

We’re constantly in this state of fear about air travel because of 9/11, because of Lockerbie, because of the suicidal pilots and co-pilots, because of all that stuff related to air travel that has absolute disaster written all over it. And to some extent I say, rightly so. I’d rather go through all those security checks at airports that we are shunted through than the alternative. I have no issue with everything that passengers about to board planes have to go through in terms of airport security. Due to the state of the world at the moment, it is a necessity for safe travel to pass through those check points, to allow yourself to be tested for explosives, to make sure that you only have a certain and small amount of liquids in your cabin luggage. Big tick from me.

What I do have a problem with, is a dumba$$ reporter deciding it’s an absolute necessity to publicise a report that points out every stage in that security process where it is possible to f@$k things up. I do have a problem with a newspaper outlet giving the thumbs up to publish information for all and sundry to read about how and where to get around security protocols . . . because we all bloody well want any potential terrorists or jihadists to take full advantage of those flaws. Yep, that’s smart thinking, Mr. Reporterman. Just advertise where and how they can get through security without any hassles. Have they not thought that it’s not just the goodies who read the papers? Hey, the bad guys like to see what’s going on in the world too? Do the reporters and editors not put two and two together and think ‘Well sh!t, it’s probably not a good idea to show anyone with a bone to pick with society how to get through airport A without security noticing what they’ve got in their cabin luggage’? Or is it that they think the baddies are to wound up with their own plans to bother reading a newspaper? Seriously, how f@$king stupid can reporters and editors be? What is the conversation that goes on in the daily meeting in the news office? ‘Yeah, mate, that’s a great story. Tell the whole country how lax security is at that airport.’ ‘Too right, mate, the everyday traveller needs to know where the terror risk is going to come from.’

Slap my a$$ and call me Fred, but I’d rather that the report stayed confidential, and that the airport management and security fixed the f@$king problems. Some people are terrible passengers as it is. I don’t need to sit next to or near someone who is about to have a conniption because they suddenly remember the point of that news article. I like my flying experience to be smooth and relaxed because, and I know it might come as a shock to some, but I really, really love flying. I love everything about air travel – including the food. Seriously, the airlines I’ve travelled with have great food . . . especially Emirates . . . business class . . . gourmet . . . and the service by cabin staff is impeccable. Really. Try them.

Back on point . . .

Get it together, reporters, journalists, and editors. Think before you publish. Is your article going to help or hinder the general public? Will it cause undue panic? Or is it something that everyone really needs to know?

Stop going for sensationalism. Stop trying to outdo your news competition. Stop being twats.

Okay, rant about sh!tty news reports over. 😉

About Danielle

I like to write. What more is there to know?
Gallery | This entry was posted in Armchair Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

