You’re Inked. He’s Inked. I’m Inked. We’re All Inked . . .

Saturday 14 November 2015

Two things to begin with. 1) I may have appropriated and paraphrased my title from a great piece of theatre. 2) Obviously I realise that we’re not all inked . . . but hey, I’m allowed a lil artistic license, aren’t I? And now, on to the guts of the post.

It’s no secret that I’m fond of a tattoo or two . . . or six. And I’m not opposed to more than six tattoos. Eight is a nice round number, and I’m sure I can find the space for two more. Possibly more if the right designs present themselves, and I release a few areas of skin to allow artwork. 😉 Yes, it’s all a very measured process for me to get inked. And I’ve managed to digress . . . again.

For the most part, I’ve had positive responses to my ink. I’m not sure if that’s because people know that I’m not a young, frivolous, airhead getting inked because it’s what all the cool kids are doing, or if we’re becoming so desensitised to tattoos that nobody cares who is wearing them. I expected that the older folks would look upon me with disdain because of my leg pieces. I mean, according to well, everyone, they’re quite large pieces of work . . . the tattoos, not my legs. However, it seems that it’s the older folks who are the most accepting of the ink. It’s more people my age, and slightly older, who give me the sideways look, raise the corner of their mouths in disgust or disdain, or look slightly terrified as I approach them.

I get comments about my tattoos on a daily basis, and they’re usually lovely compliments. Occasionally I’ll get a comment about how ‘I wouldn’t get tattoos like that, especially not ones that big’, or the usual ‘You’ll regret having those when you’re older’, the odd ‘If you were my daughter there’s no way I’d let you get them’, and the very common ‘Have you thought about what those tattoos are going to look like when you’re old?’ Here’s a couple of clues for you, I am old, I’m not your daughter, no I won’t regret them, and I didn’t ask you if you’d get tattoos like mine.

My Wonder Woman tattoo by Danny Estcourt at South West Tattoo.

However, as much as I like tattoos, I must confess to being quite judgemental where tattoos are concerned. I have been known to stare at tattooed people, check out their ink work, and sneer, or raise the corner of my mouth in disdain at the pieces they wear. Yes, I have discovered that I am a tattoo snob. I’m all for a good tattoo, but sh!t ones . . . oh, I’m really snobby about them. And here’s the thing – what forms the basis of a sh!t tattoo is quite subjective, I think. I mean, you can critique a tattoo by the technical aspects, such as line work, colour saturation, consistency, design, structure, placement, and a plethora of other areas that great tattooists master. I also know that people might see the tattoos that I have as being sh!t. Like I said, subjective.

Just as there are sh!t pieces of ink work, there are truly beautiful pieces; tattoos that are nothing short of fine art, and when you see those pieces you understand why people want to be tattooed. You can find all manner of beautiful tattoo work online, but recently I’ve discovered Italian tattooist Marco Manzo. Check out his Instagram: @marcomanzotattoo His work is beyond beautiful, and it seems that massive back pieces, and full leg pieces are his forte. The intricacies of the pieces Manzo creates are astonishing. And I want a Marco Manzo piece. Followed by an Ellen Westholm piece. Check out her Instagram: @ellenwestholm because that’s a whole other holy moly moment.

But most of all, if you’re a Westie, and especially if you live in the South West, you should check out the work done by my tattoo artist, Danny Estcourt at South West Tattoo (http://swtattoostudio.com/). I highly recommend Danny’s work. He’s a talented artist, and takes great care ensuring that the work he inks on you is of the highest quality. Hey, even my mama likes the tattoos that Danny has inked on me! And you know how mothers are regarding tattoos and their kids . . . Hit up Danny’s Instagram: @dannyestcourttattoo to view his work. Then, because you’re so impressed with what he does, book in and have Danny tattoo you. And be sure to tell him that I sent you.

Wonder Woman 2

A closer look at Danny Estcourt’s work on my Wonder Woman leg tattoo. Reference was an image from the comic ‘Wonder Woman (2011-) #41 by M. Finch, D. Finch, Glapion, & Anderson.

The Matryoshka that Danny Estcourt designed and inked for me

The Matryoshka that Danny Estcourt designed and inked for me.

This sits on my upper thigh and wraps a bit. Danny Estcourt designed this with the instruction that it must contain the lines of Dylan Thomas poetry and four daffodils. Colour idea is all mine.

This sits on my upper thigh and wraps a bit. Danny Estcourt designed this with the instruction that it must contain the lines of Dylan Thomas poetry and four daffodils. Colour idea is all mine. Photo by me.

Here's another view of my Dylan and Daffodils tattoo

Here’s another view of my Dylan and Daffodils tattoo. Photo by me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Of course, you may want one of the other talented tattoo artists to ink you, so it might help to stop by South West Tattoo, and have a chat to the guys and gals there to find the best artist for you, and view some of their work.

This is the first piece that Danny Estcourt designed and inked for me. I love everything about her.

This is the first piece that Danny Estcourt designed and inked for me. I love everything about her. This is Danny’s photo of the finished tattoo.

Just remember, getting inked is a serious business, and I recommend that you do your research regarding the best artist for you, and suitable designs. And for the majority of you, who probably don’t have a high pain tolerance level like me, your tattoo will likely hurt. Suck it up, princess. If you want ink, be prepared to take what comes with it – the pain, the irritating scabbing that itches as the tattoo heals, and the aftercare that you will need to engage in. And don’t bitch about the cost of the work you’re going to get done – tattooists, good ones, are artists and deserve to be paid for their work. A final tip about tattoos: it’s nigh on impossible to stop at one. Really. Seriously. Who only has one tattoo?

Hmmm, maybe it’s time to think about number seven . . .

About Danielle

I like to write. What more is there to know?
Gallery | This entry was posted in Armchair Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

