This Is What We’ve Come To? Oh Happy Day!

Monday 11 April 2016

I’m pretty sure, in my household, today will forever be known as just another day, and that’s exactly how it should be. Just. Another. Day. Nothing special. But no. Apparently, in other parts of the world, there are allegedly legitimate days of celebration/acknowledgement/recognition. Now, I say allegedly because seriously, some of these so-called days are, quite frankly, a crock of shit. Yep, I said it – they’re a crock of shit.

All you have to do is hit up Google, and find a list of commemorative days, and you’ll more than likely agree with my above sentiment. At least, I think you’ll agree if you have half a brain, and a good level of cynicism. Let me give you some examples of days that have occurred, and are coming up in April. I’m not fudging these days. I seriously found them online, and apparently, people actually celebrate/recognise/whatever these days. The stuff in ( ) I’ve added. Remember, these are just a few:

Dolphin Day / Wear Your Pyjamas To Work Day / Bat Appreciation Day / Amateur Radio Day / Pet Owner’s Independence Day / Ford Mustang Day / Haiku Poetry Day / Nothing Like A Dame Day / Blah Blah Blah Day (sounds like I should investigate this one!) / Save The Elephants Day (this is legitimate, and not some kind of stupid day) / Record Store Day / Eggs Benedict Day / Auctioneers Day/ DNA Day / Take A Wild Guess Day (I’m just gonna let this one slide) / Microvolunteering Day / That Sucks Day (ya think?!) / Look Up At The Sky Day / Bookmobile Day / Scrabble Day / Library Worker’s Day / Licorice Day / Walk On Your Wild Side Day / Grilled Cheese Sandwich Day (WT actual F?) / Equal Pay Day / Be Kind To Lawyers Day (really? Because we hate lawyers that much every other day of the year we have to give them just one day?!) / Golfer’s Day / Sibling Day / International Safety Pin Day / Barbershop Quartet Day / Pet Day (where you show your pet how much you love them, because you don’t do it any other day of their lives!!!) / World Parkinson’s Day / Cheese Fondue Day

And might I mention that April is: Garden Month / Straw Hat Month (again, WT actual F?) / Decorating Month / Poetry Month (because we hate poetry every other month of the year?) / Inventor’s Month / Couple Appreciation Month (because couples need a specific month to express their love and devotion to each other? This one has so much wrong with it.)

Okay, so hopefully you’re getting my point here about the stupidity of having days to recognise/celebrate/acknowledge stuff. What about the real, legitimate, proper days that are set aside for acknowledging issues or greatness or achievements? I mean, Grilled Cheese Sandwich Day is no Mother’s Day or Father’s Day, and it’s certainly no Independence Day or ANZAC Day. No, Grilled Cheese Sandwich Day is far, far better, isn’t it? Yes, I was using sarcasm there. No, of course I don’t believe a day celebrating grilled cheese sandwiches is sensible or more important than Independence Day or ANZAC Day. Those days actually represent milestones or people in history.

And before anyone gets their panties in a bunch, yes, I’m aware that some of the days that we choose to acknowledge and celebrate as important days represent days of invasion or misery to others. But at least they’re not days celebrating a f*%king grilled cheese sandwich.

Is that what we’ve come to? Really? Utilising every day of the year to celebrate something f*%king ridiculous or inane? Eggs Benedict Day – because eggs covered in sauce have feelings to. Maybe I should celebrate Take A Wild Guess Day by expressing how I feel about these stupid, made up days. I’m sure it won’t be such a wild guess for you to come up with how I feel about them. And Blah Blah Blah Day? Again, what the actual f*%k? But remember, those days were only for the month of April. There are eleven more months of f*%ked up days to acknowledge.

I’m sure there’ll be an Onions Need Emotional Understanding Day or Dung Beetles Are Not Dirty Day to celebrate. Maybe a Flea Appreciation Day or an LCD TV Rocks Day? Perhaps someone could create an International Don’t Piss Danielle Off Day or, and this would be a great one, an International We’ve Got Brains So Let Us Use Our Common Sense Day. That’s a self-explanatory one, although it’s more likely to be a wishful thinking one these days.

Our sudden desire to acknowledge every f*%king thing in the world is removing the gravitas from the legitimate days of celebration and acknowledgement. I kinda feel it’s like giving a ribbon to every kid who participates in a race. It’s pointless, and does nothing to help those kids realise that sometimes you win, sometimes you lose but that’s life. That being said, I do know people who celebrate every little thing that their booger eater does, from having their first crap in the toilet to eating their first piece of solid food. And by celebrate, I mean posting it all over Social Media, sending out cards, inviting everyone they know to a party to celebrate Johnny’s first crap in a toilet. You all know the sort of person I’m referring to. And frankly, we need to stop.

We need to stop celebrating everything. We need to go back to celebrating the important things, not the trivial things. But maybe that’s just me. Maybe I’ve turned into a grumpy old woman – actually, I think I may have been a grumpy old woman from years back, but that’s an entirely different blog post.

So please, think about not making every day a ridiculous, trivial, made up day for celebrating stupid stuff. Celebrate the important things in life and world history instead. That’s it. That’s my post for today. And now, I’m off to make a cup of tea . . . no, it doesn’t need a day to acknowledge it!!!

About Danielle

I like to write. What more is there to know?
Gallery | This entry was posted in Armchair Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

