Deck The Halls With Friends And Family . . .

Sunday 18 December 2016

Some time ago, probably about this time last year or the year before, I wrote about how I love Christmas time, and as you can see by the title of this post, I’m likely to head that way again. So, if you’re not a Christmas timey kinda person, maybe find some of my other posts to read . . . or continue on and see what I blurt out. Either way . . .

Yesterday, mama and I headed off to the city to spend the day with family, and to help celebrate, albeit a couple of days early, the birthday of a certain lil spunky cousin of mine. Now, we’re all perfectly aware of the situation between me and lil kids, so I don’t feel that I need to reiterate that. But just imagine, a birthday party with lil kids . . . and me. I know, right?! But here’s the thing that I wanted to cover in this post, and it warrants a whole line to itself:

I have never seen lil kids with manners as beautiful as my lil cousin and his friends.

Holy sh!t, these kids sat at a table to eat their b’day treats, didn’t leave too much of a mess, and there was no squabbling. Okay, so the chocolate mud cake birthday cake may have ensured that there were chocolatey crumbs on the floor, but on the whole, there was little mess. And don’t get me started on their table manners. Seriously, I’ve been witness to adults who can’t sit and eat at a table with the decorum that these kids did. No showing each other what they had half-chewed in their mouths, or spitting out food, no tasting something then leaving it because they didn’t like it. Whatever went in their mouths, stayed in their mouths . . . and with that sentence I really want to say something about Vegas, but as this is a post about kids and family, I’ll redirect my thoughts from that M+ rated joke, and leave it to your imagination.

I was really impressed with these kids in general. Their manners were beautiful. Lots of ‘please’ and ‘thank you’ and ‘you’re welcome’. They all played well together, so there was lots of laughter and squealing and sharing. And when things looked like they might go off the rails, it was easy enough to distract them, or reason with them with regards to the importance of sharing and being kind.

With that, I thought about Term 3 and ‘our kids’ (because I had the great pleasure of team-teaching with a colleague, rather than just ‘my kids’, we refer to this cohort now as ‘our kids’) and how I’m buoyed by the intelligence and compassion of many of the kids today. For a while there, I was concerned that society was heading into the sh!tter because so many people just didn’t care anymore. Now, at least for a lil while, my faith in society and humanity has been restored because we do have some utterly gorgeous young people who will be the foundation of our future society growing up right now. Okay, I’ll get off my soapbox for a bit.

The festive season for my family is exactly as it is billed: festive. We have two December birthdays to celebrate – my spunky lil cousin a few days before Christmas, and mama on Christmas Day (yes, she does get two presents, and we have two distinct celebrations although they are both on the same day . . . don’t ask, we’re complex people 😉 ). When my G’ma was alive, we had her birthday to celebrate a couple of days after Christmas. Then January and February roll on and we continue celebrations for my big bro, me, and two of my stunning cousins. Yeah, I think something incredibly boring must have occurred during April and May for our family. o_O

Sorry, amused myself with a couple of lines when I re-read this post, and I’ve completely lost my train of thought, and what I intended to write in the rest of this post. It happens a lot these days because I’m, y’know, older. Ah well, I think I’ll simply take this opportunity to send you season’s greetings, and wish you a happy and healthy 2017. I’m off to put on a Christmas CD or four, and no, one of them isn’t Adele because she hasn’t made a Christmas album . . . but if she ever does, you know I’ll buy it. 😉

P.S. Happy birthday to my lil spunky cousin who we love love LOVE to bits. xoxo

About Danielle

I like to write. What more is there to know?
Gallery | This entry was posted in Armchair Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

