Who: Why The Fuss?

Sunday 23 July 2017

No doubt, I’ll draw the ire of the Whovian population for this post, but hey, this is my blog, and I can post whatever I want. And like a sh!tload of other Whovians and normal people too, I’ve watched Doctor Who since I was a kid. I’m talking the classic show, and now, the new series. So, any Whovians who get their knickers, or jocks, in a twist about this post, can just sling their hooks elsewhere.

Most of you will likely be aware that Peter Capaldi announced he was leaving the show, and the search was on for the 13th Doctor. The mandatory speculation ensued. Who was going to be the next Doctor? Idris Elba? Kris Marshall? Whoever else was on the alleged short list. If anyone’s wondering, my money was on Kris Marshall, particularly after I learned he was leaving Death in Paradise. I think he’d have made a stellar Doctor Who. There was also the faint hope that some people had, that the Doctor would follow in Missy’s steps, and maybe, just maybe, regenerate into a woman.

Of course, the rabid Whovians choked on their chocolate milk at the talk of a female Doctor. How could the Doctor be a woman? Surely, Chris Chibnall wouldn’t dare hire a woman to play the Doctor? Nope, the Doctor has always been a man, and if you turn him into a woman, the entire mythology of the Doctor will be ruined. I mean, who ever heard of a Time LORD being a woman? That’s insane. Oh, wait, the Master regenerated into a woman. Yeah, but that was the Master, not the Doctor. Yeah, there’s no way in hell they’ll have a woman Doctor. We’re safe. Our little sci-fi universe will remain perfectly okay.

And then the announcement came. The Doctor would be played by . . . dun dun duuuuuhhhhhhh . . . Jodie Whittaker? What the f*#k? What. The. Actual. F*$k? A woman! How dare they? The Doctor can’t be a woman. It’s a HE. A Time LORD. Right, well, now I’m not watching the show anymore because the Doctor can’t possibly be played by a female. He’s a he. How many times can I whinge about it online? How many more times can I b!tch about an alien character who has the ability to regenerate, and travels through time and space in a space-time craft that’s bigger on the inside, but is stuck in the external form of a 1960s police call box? Yeah, because a female playing the role would totally ruin us suspending our disbelief.

You can tell that I’m being sarcastic in the above paragraph, can’t you?

I think the fact that Jodie Whittaker is now portraying Doctor Who is very interesting. I’m eager to see her interpretation of this much-loved fictional character. Yeah, that was another dig at the die-hards who have got their noses out of joint because the producers have hired a woman to play the title role. I think the introduction of a woman in the role is going to make this an intriguing series to watch.

I have to admit, I’ve not been a fan of Capaldi’s Doctor. I loved David Tennant’s Doctor. I grew to love Matt Smith’s Doctor. But Capaldi’s Doctor never grew on me. I still watched the show, mostly in the hope that Capaldi would do something, anything to make me like his interpretation of the character, but it never happened. But Whittaker’s introduction looks quite good. I mean, it’s not like there’s a lot of substance to the short film introduction that the BBC produced to announce her arrival, but it does have a serene look about it. And that’s piqued my interest.

I’ve read a lot about people, Whovians and non-Whovians, saying they hated Jodie Whittaker in Broadchurch as Beth Latimer, citing her as annoying. Yeah, she probably was to some extent. However, that was not Whittaker’s fault. She was playing what was written for the character. You want to blame someone for that? Blame Chris Chibnall. His characters, his writing.

Moving back to the Doctor’s gender, and the excuse that they’re called Time Lords. Ummmm, what about Romana, and Romana II? She was a Time Lord. And female. Not to mention that we have already seen a regeneration or two where Time Lords have changed into women. And the fact that it’s a fictional character. Why get so bent out of shape about a gender change for a fictional character? I don’t see the purpose of being so pissed about a made-up character changing gender. Y’think the surviving residents of Grenfell Tower are getting bent out of shape about it? Nuh. They’ve got more important things to get pissed about. Y’think people suffering from serious illness are getting bent out of shape about Doctor Who now being a woman? Nah, pretty sure they’ve got more important things to worry about. What I’m getting at is there are more important things in the world to get up-in-arms over than the gender of a fictional character. It’s a bloody TV show, kids.

And yes, that’s exactly what I think the people who are b!tching about Jodie Whittaker being the new Doctor are. Kids. Kids argue over sh!t like that. Adults don’t. Because they understand the meaning of the term fictional character.

So, some of us eagerly await the new series of Doctor Who. The ‘glass ceiling’ of the show has been broken with Jodie Whittaker stepping in as the new Doctor. Unlike some of the show’s fans, there are many of us who wish Jodie every success in the role, just as we hope the ratings and success of the show will increase, and open up to a whole range of new fans.

About Danielle

I like to write. What more is there to know?
Gallery | This entry was posted in Armchair Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

